The closing of a used bookstore

Book haul

A used bookstore near my home is sadly closing down, something more and more of them have been doing during the last ten years. Sad as the occasion was this did mean a generous sale which I was happy to take advantage of. I especially enjoyed the “pay per bag” system used for the sale which encouraged me to pick up some interesting curiosities. I am now proud owner of an essay collection by Karen Blixen, an illustrated Norwegian short story by Jonas Lie and a religious text by Esaias Tegnér, printed in 1897, which I chose solely because it was beautiful.

Nattvardsbarnen av Esaias tegnerThe bookstore in question specializes in non-fiction so the fiction collection was limited. Nevertheless I did find a few crime novels (Josephine Tey, Agatha Christie) and Jenny Diski’s novel “Skating to Antarctica” which I look forward to read.

Those of you who could not take advantage of the sale can still read some of Jonas Lie’s tales. His short-story collection “Weird Tales from the Northern Seas” is available from project Gutenberg. I’ve only read one of the stories so far but it looks promising.

Leave a Reply

